Photo

How To Approach A 457(B) Plan Administrator?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 fireman44

fireman44
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 July 2016 - 01:31 PM

Hello everyone. I live in New Jersey and I am a paid firefighter.  In my city we have the 457 (b) plan available to us.  

However the options are unfortunately AXA, VALIC and METLIFE.
I have a scheduled appointment with our personnel director who is the plan administrator for Monday.

I am going to ask if she would try to bring in vanguard or fidelity to be a sponsor in our plans. 

Now my question is how can I present the case to her for this.  I would like to be prepared. I have done research and I will tell her how the fees on the variable annuity's have excessive fees, such as the Mortality and expense charges. 

Does anyone have any links for websites that show how much fees you are actually paying for these variable annuity plans? 

What are some other things i should mention or point out to her in making my case for saying we need Vanguard in our city?

#2 tony

tony
  • Members
  • 3,483 posts

Posted 17 July 2016 - 01:18 PM

Hi Fireman

I was hoping you would get responses from others this time around since we've communicated before but looks like I am all you've got at this time.