Tax Deferred Annuity?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nycteacher

nycteacher
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 January 2007 - 09:22 PM

Hey guys. I'm new to the forum. I'm a NYC public school teacher. They don't offer 403b. They only offer the tax deferred annuity. Now-I'm not the smartest apple on the block-but it doesn't sound like a good option for me. Can I still enroll in the 403b, even if NYC Board of Education does not provide it? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.

#2 Guest_Sierra_*

Guest_Sierra_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 January 2007 - 01:33 PM

QUOTE(nycteacher @ Jan 21 2007, 09:22 PM) View Post

Hey guys. I'm new to the forum. I'm a NYC public school teacher. They don't offer 403b. They only offer the tax deferred annuity. Now-I'm not the smartest apple on the block-but it doesn't sound like a good option for me. Can I still enroll in the 403b, even if NYC Board of Education does not provide it? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.

First and foremost you need to know that the the Department of Education of the City of New York has always had but one 403(b) investment provider. This provider is the Teachers' Retirement System of the City of New York. The TDA (Tax Deferred Annuity) is just another way of saying that the salary reduction savings program is authorized under Internal Revenue Code Section 403(b). So you do have at your disposal a 403(b) Program.

You are not forced, however, to do your salary reduction investing for retirement thru the TDA (403(b)) Program offered by the Teachers' Retirement System. As an alternative I would have you invest in the Deferred Compensation 457(b) and 401(k) Plans of the City of New York. Check them out and get back for more discussion.

Peace and hope,
Joel L. Frank

#3 apteacher

apteacher
  • Members
  • 1,538 posts

Posted 22 January 2007 - 02:30 PM

QUOTE(Sierra @ Jan 22 2007, 10:33 AM) View Post