Why Can 401k People Withdraw And Not 403b People Prior To 59 1/2

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Birmy

Birmy
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 January 2010 - 09:52 AM

I am a school teacher and can retire at age 57 with 30 years of service with a New York State pension. I read today in newspaper that a 401K can be accessed at age 55 without being socked with a 10% penalty for early withdrawal if you quit, retire or are fired. Dave Carpenter from the Associated Press wrote article entitled, "Benefits, like aches, increase with age". This early withdrawal interests me as my wife has a 401K and we always thought about the possible difficulty of getting from age 57 (my proposed retirement) to 59 1/2 (when we can access our retirement monies in the investment vehicles) if all of our money is in these retirement vehicles (401 and 403B).

Do you know if Congress has ever considered offering people with a 403B the same benefit as those with a 401K? Meaning, is there anything in the pipeline about allowing a 403B participant to access their money as early as age 55 without penalty if the person quits, retires or is fired? Clearly, if I retired at age 57 and a 403B was like a 401K I could start tapping into it without penalty.

Seems like this would give the 403B holder some nice flexibility in that you would not have to wait until age 59 and 1/2 to collect.

Any advice, thoughts or anything you can share would be greatly appreciated.

#2 DK

DK
  • Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 18 January 2010 - 11:41 AM

You are allowed to withdraw from your 403(b) after 55 years old if you separate from service and retired. You will not have to pay any penalty if you do this.

#3 Birmy

Birmy
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 January 2010 - 09:57 PM

QUOTE(DK @ Jan 18 2010, 11:41 AM) View Post

You are allowed to withdraw from your 403(b) after 55 years old if you separate from service and retired. You will not have to pay any penalty if you do this.