Borrowing Against 403b

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 syntax49

syntax49
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 June 2004 - 01:57 PM

The guy selling 403bs at my middle school (I'm a new teacher but 49 years old) suggests I could max out my contribution ($13,000 etc.) for a couple of years, draw from post-tax, being-taxed savings to make up my living expenses, then borrow against that 403b for home buying. Does this make sense?
Great forum, great website for newbies!

#2 FrenchTeacher

FrenchTeacher
  • Members
  • 836 posts

Posted 04 June 2004 - 02:33 PM

I'm going to let more qualified financial minds than mine answer this fully, but I immediately smell trouble when a guy is recommending that you give him a vast portion of your money, then borrow against that to buy a home. Is the 403b company the beneficiary of the interest you'd pay on that loan, too? Be skeptical...be very skeptical.

On the flip side, some 403b's (such as mine) are set up so that interest you pay on a loan is credited back into your account, so you are in effect "paying yourself back" for the loan. The 403b company still gets to play with your money for a few years, though.

#3 Yanikoski

Yanikoski
  • Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 04 June 2004 - 03:48 PM

If the choice is between putting the money into the 403(b) or else putting it into a home purchase, both are good options. What your 403b guy is proposing is that you can have the benefits of both.

If you make the 403b contribution, borrow against it, then pay it back, you restore the tax shelter when you pay back the loan. If you simply never contribute the money to your 403b, you cannot double up on contributions later to make up for it. So if you think you have will have enough cash flow, after you buy your house, to pay your mortgage, repay the 403b loan, plus continue to make maximum new 403b contributions, this plan could work out to your benefit.