Sign in to follow this  
kal

Equity-indexed Annuity

I'm new at this money thing. I have an equity-indexed annuity with LSW. The salesman was a fast-talker and I thought I understood the plan at the time. Now I'm worried. I tried to get out of it, but the rep talked me back into it.

Does anyone know about this company and/or about equity-indexed annuities? I'm unable to find out about the fees, particularly as they compare with similar products.

Thanks for any help.

I'm new at this money thing. I have an equity-indexed annuity with LSW. The salesman was a fast-talker and I thought I understood the plan at the time. Now I'm worried. I tried to get out of it, but the rep talked me back into it.

Does anyone know about this company and/or about equity-indexed annuities? I'm unable to find out about the fees, particularly as they compare with similar products.

Thanks for any help.

I usually refrain from giving investment advice but equity indexed annuities are a yucky product in the eyes of insurance regulators because there are too many hedges and complex fees that reduce the return, in addition to surrender charges. One of the biggest drawbacks is that the annuity owner receives only a portion of the appreciation of the index used to calculate the value of the annuity but you have to read the fine print in the contract to know that.

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

There is a saying that annuities are sold not bought. That fast talking salesperson just got a nice bonus for selling you the equity indexed annuity. Here are two links about them:

http://www.sec.gov/investor/pubs/equityidxannuity.htm

http://www.finra.org/Investors/ProtectYour...surance/P010614

You may want to stop sending any more money immediately and take the hit of the surrender fee and count it up as a learning experience. Next time look before you leap into giving someone your money. Best Wishes,

Joe