wakeman01

Getting Out Of Valic?

I just retired 2 weeks ago with a Valic 403b. I found the 403bwise website yesterday, and as I look through the topics here I see that many of the postings say that Valic's fees and charges are much too high. So I tried to find out just what the Valic fees are but couldn't find them anywhere on the Valic website. From what I've read here it seems the smartest thing for me to do would be to transfer my 403b plan to Vanguard. I'm kind of new at investing so I thought maybe someone here might be able to answer a question for me. My question is ... How hard will it be for me to do a 403b transfer, and what kind of problems could I expect to run into if I try to do such a transfer?

Guest Joel L Frank

I just retired 2 weeks ago with a Valic 403b. I found the 403bwise website yesterday, and as I look through the topics here I see that many of the postings say that Valic's fees and charges are much too high. So I tried to find out just what the Valic fees are but couldn't find them anywhere on the Valic website. From what I've read here it seems the smartest thing for me to do would be to transfer my 403b plan to Vanguard. I'm kind of new at investing so I thought maybe someone here might be able to answer a question for me. My question is ... How hard will it be for me to do a 403b transfer, and what kind of problems could I expect to run into if I try to do such a transfer?

Retirement/severance of employment from the employer/sponsor of the 403(b) plan is one of the triggering events that permit you to rollover your Valic 403(b) to a Vanguard IRA.

I urge you to effectuate this Eligible Rollover Distribution and then get back to us for some investment advice. How much money is involved? Are you receiving a defined benefit pension? What is your current employment status? How old are you? Are you married? Your spouse's age? Children?

Hello