bWise Forums
SPerk15

Help Choosing Between Limited 403B Options

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting and I am hoping I can get some advice and expertise. I am starting a job in a new school district in Illinois and am dismayed that my options for 403b are not ideal. I was hoping for Vanguard, Fidelity or TIAA-Creff based on a lot of posts seeming to say these are good low fee options. Here are my choices, could you all please help recommend a best possible option between these? Do one or two stand out as definitely good choices? Any stand out as ones to for sure avoid? Thanks! Here are my options:

Ameriprise Financial

AXA Equitable

Great American Life Insurance Company

Lincoln Investment Planning

MetLife

Thriven Financial for Lutherans

VALIC Financial Advisers

Thoughts?

Steve

Steve

Take a closer look at Lincoln Investment Planning. I am not familiar with them but I believe Dave Grant one of our posters once mentioned they have some decent options-If I remember correctly. Maybe Dave will comment.

Also take a look at Valic. They have a non-annuity mutual funds only platform where the costs are lower. See if you have access to that. Maybe Krow will comment. The problem is you will have to deal with their financial advisors who are commissioned.

The others are losers. You need to do some work getting your school system to add a Fidelity or an Aspire option. Every school district should be required to offer at least one low cost non annuity-non insurance company product. I would push for this once you get established in your new job if valiv or Lincoln do not fit the bill.

Tony

Congratulations and welcome to IL teaching! It takes a brave person to sign up in a state with a governor that is so clearly anti-unions.

Tony and Dan nailed the best advice, but let me add that if you have not started a Roth IRA with a brokerage firm, it's probably best to do that first. I suggest Schwab. Their ETFs, Funds, and Target Date funds are my favorite.