bWise Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Ozark1990

FTJ FundChoice - Self Directed, or Advisor

Hi,

I am a 27 year old teacher in Missouri whose district's 403(b)/457 options are provided only by FTJ FundChoice. I've attempted to parse through all the documents, understanding the layers of providers, RIA's, fees, etc... It's been a rabbit hole! 

In short, here are some things I *think* I've found out:

• My District's plan guy (perhaps IRS Coordinator? not sure) has a title of "Investment Advisor Representative". His business card says "Forrest T. Jones & Company"
    • researching him online, he is apparently with National Pension & Group Consultants Inc. in Kansas City, Missouri. Not sure what that means.
    • He informed me that his fees are: 
      • $25/year for the account
      • .95%/year AUM Fee
  • Two Options - Self Directed or Outsourced.
    • Self Directed - all done in FTJ FundChoice Website called, 'portfoliologin'. It is built on Orion Architecture. In addition, FTJ FundChoice uses TD Ameritrade Trust Company for the purchase and sale of securities. Not sure exactly why Orion's 'interface' is needed, especially if trades go through TD Ameritrade...
      • Vanguard is available. Admiral Shares.