bWise Forums
Sign in to follow this  
reubenhenriques

What are my options before I leave job?

Hi all,

Thanks for all the helpful information on this website - it's been a godsend. Based on a lot of my research, I decided to cease contributions to the AXA Equitable 403b plan that my school district offers and shift into the Massachusetts state 457 plan ("SMART Plan"), which has much lower fees.

I've been trying to figure out if I am allowed to roll over AXA funds into the 457 plan, and it seems as though this is not possible until I turn 59.5 or leave my current job. I was wondering what suggestions you all had in terms of next steps for the money that is in that account (I've been contributing for the past five years to the 403b) - I'm happy to pay surrender fees if it gets me into a better investment vehicle, but I don't even know if that's possible. Are there specific funds or AXA plans that are "least crappy"? Or general advice for what to do with money that's already in a bad 403(b)?

My school only offers plans from AXA and Lincoln Financial, so there's not a "good" 403b option within my employer to transfer to (Vanguard, Aspire, etc.).

You mention in the title about leaving your job. Is that something you plan to do soon (within next few years)? If so, you may want to wait until you move on. At that point you can roll the AXA funds into a Rollover IRA with Vanguard, or Fidelity, etc. - Dan 

Job Change and the 403(b)

I’ve been trying to help reubenhenriques on the BH forum: https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=236099
I’ve suggested that the AXA mutual fund based 403b Retirement 360 should be considered if AXA offers it in his district. OP,  does AXA offer the Retirement 360 to your district? According to 403bcompare, it's offered in CA and includes some good low-cost funds: 
iShares Total US Stock Market Idx K, 0.03%
Vanguard Total Intl Stock Index Admiral, 0.11%
Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Adm, 0.05%