bWise Forums
Sign in to follow this  
magmason

Who Decides 457 Vendors?

Hi, 

I'm a teacher on the Central Coast in California nearing retirement.  I would like to maximize my ability to save in retirement accounts this year and next, and would like to open a 457(b).  The only vendor listed for my District is Planmember Services, which I do not want to use.  We have an array of choices for a 403(b), and I'm currently using Calstrs Pension 2.  I'd like to use them for a 457(b) account, but when I contacted my district benefits office to find out how to get them added to the list, I was told that the district has no say in choosing vendors, and that TSA Consulting Group, which is our TPA, determines which vendors to use.  I suspected this was misinformation, and when I called TSACG, they confirmed my suspicion, and insisted that my district decides which vendors to use.  

I would like to have an informed discussion when I approach the district.  Can someone help me out with some guidance?

Thank you in advance.  Very frustrating.

Of course you are correct that the school district has the responsibility for their list of 403b and 457 vendors. Starting at 403bcompare.com, I found the CA law that applies to this: https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=EDC&division=1.&title=1.&part=13.&chapter=39.&article=

If I were you, I would go back to the HR office and explain that the TPA told you that the lists are the responsibility of the district. If you talk nice, and maybe ask to see a supervisor, you’ll make headway. Once HR admits that they control the lists, you can find out if there’s a procedure for adding a vendor.