bWise Forums
Michael Coal

403b Vendors Recommandation

Hello,

I am a teacher in an elementary public school in Illinois. Recently our school district is offering us 403b plans with the following providers:

Brighthouse Life INS (Metlife CT/Travelers)

Lincoln Investment Planning

Roth - Brighthouse Life INS (Metlife CT/Travelers)

Roth - Lincoln Investment

Roth - Valic

Roth - Voya Financial (Reliastar)

Valic

Voya Financial (Reliastar)

I have been teaching for 15 years and I am planning to do so for 7 or 8 more. I am in a position where from now on I could contribute the maximum amount of money per year in a 403b plan ($18,500) and also for a Roth which if I am not wrong is around $5,000.

It is not an easy job to gather information about these providers and their plans to better decide the best option.

What would you do? Any advices / ideas?

Any contribution is greatly appreciated,

Thanks

Welcome Michael

, Looks to me like you have several subpar choices. First of all stay away from any insurance company 403b plans . Secondly, might you have a 457 plan available to you? If you do that might be a way out of your mostly awful choices in your 403b. I googled and came up with  your state 457 b and it has Vanguard as a choice. If you qualify for it, it might be the way to go. Otherwise you might have to decide between Voya, Lincoln Investment planning ,or maybe Valic. Valic does offer an non insurance lower cost option in some districts. You will have to decide. Depending on how much you save a year, you might be better off just investing in a Roth IRA outside of a 403b and a taxable account with Vanguard or Fidelity Index Funds which are fairly tax efficient. If you are married your wife qualifies for a Roth too. You can then pick low cost index funds with Fidelity or Vanguard which would be a superior option. $6,500 a year is the current allowed.If you are under 50 its $5,500.00