bprisco

New Teacher | Provider Suggestions

Hello,

I am a new teacher looking into 403B options and am seeking advice.  After doing some research, I found that it is best to select an investment provider vs. an insurance, is this correct?  If so, I have narrowed my choices down to Fidelity and Vanguard due to low costs and expense ratios (403bcompare.com).  Can anyone provide advise or tips in making a decision between providers?  Steve's post from 7/24 explored a similar question.  However, I do not know the difference between an all-in-one vs. 3 fund portfolio.  Is anyone willing to explain?

Am I possibly overlooking another quality choice?  My full list of options are:
AIG Valic
American Fund
AXA (which I read on this site is to be avoided)
Fidelity
First Investors
Franklin Templeton
ING National Trust-NY
Mass Mutual VA
Metlife
New England Financial Co.
New York LIfe Insurance Co of NY
Oppenheimer
RiverSource
The Legend Group/ADSERV
Vanguard
Wilton Reassurance Life Co of NY

This is all very new to me; however, I am trying to educate myself and make the smartest decision towards my financial security.  These posts and recommended sites have helped me begin to grasp the concept of saving for retirement. I thank you all greatly. 

*Note, I plan to retire in approx. 25 years. 

Thank you,
bprisco

Bprisco

Looks like you know  what to do seeing that you have Fidelity and Vanguard. So this is a no brainer. One or the other is fine of these two.

This page from Vanguard might help explain an all in one fund :https: //investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/all-in-one-funds