Sign in to follow this  
becker1685

Best 457 vendor?

Hey fellow educators! I am a teacher in Clark County, NV (Las Vegas) and am trying to choose a 457 vendor. Below is the list of companies I am allowed to choose from. Does anyone have any info on them? I may just have to call all 17 of them and tell them what I'm looking for (low fees, similar fund to S&P 500 or total stock market USA). Any info would be greatly appreciated.

I also have access to the 403(b)'s with these same companies. I believe I will max the 457 first, then start a 403(b).

• American Fidelity Assurance Co.
  • ASPire Financial Services
  • AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company
  • Fidelity Investments - Plan Number: 95033
  • Global Atlantic (issued by Commonwealth)
  • Great American-Annuity Investors Life
  • Horace Mann Insurance Company
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company
  • National Life Group
  • PlanMember Services
  • ReliaStar Life - Subsidiary of VOYA Financial
  • Security Benefit Group
  • The Legend Group - A Lincoln Investment Company
  • TIAA-CREF - Plan Number: 405776
  • VALIC
  • VOYA Financial
  • Waddell & Reed, Inc.

Becker1685, welcome to the forum. You have several low-cost vendors worth using for a 457 plan (and a 403b). My first choice would be Fidelity. Their Fidelity Direct 403b charges only $24/yr for a custodial fee and has all the low-cost index funds you need:

Total Stock Market Index Premium (FSTVX), ER 0.02%

US Bond Index Premium (FSITX), 0.03%

International Index Premium, (FSIVX), ER 0.05%

If you want a all-in-one mutual fund that includes the above you can use one of their Freedom Index funds that have ERs of 0.14%. You would pick one with your retirement year, or better yet, on with the stock/bond ratio that you want.