JT1906

Reputable 403B Houston Area

Good evening, I'm looking for a company where I can invest my 403B. After reading the reviews about AXA I have realized that I may have jumped the gun too soon to invest with them. I am a first year teacher and began investing with AXA about a month ago. After reading the post on here about AXA I have realized I need to discontinue with them and look for another company to handle my retirement. Any suggestions? 

Can you list both the 403b and 457b vendors that are on your district’s approved list? Also, some states have state sponsored 457b plans...not sure if Texas does, but I’m sure that is google-able  

I documented the 5 best plans available in Florida here. All 5 are also available throughout the nation and hopefully in your district!

EdLaFave's post has a link to his discussion of Fidelity, Security Benefit's NEA Direct Invest and Aspire. I agree with Ed’s ranking. Fidelity Investments would be an excellent choice for your 403b plan. I would stick with the 3 very low-cost index fund he suggested. However one of Fidelity’s Freedom Index Target Date funds that he mentions would also be a good choice, although slightly more expensive.

Congrats, you’ve got some excellent choices on that list!

As Krow noted, Fidelity Investments is the way to go. There is a similarly named “Fidelity Security Life Insurance” company which I’ve never heard of, but based on their name they’re bad news. So don’t confuse the two.

A word of caution about Fidelity is that they give some of their funds very similar names where one fund is great and the other is rather expensive (this has been discussed previously on this board). I can only assume they’ve done this to trick the investor into paying higher fees than is necessary and this has even caused confusion for those well versed on the matter. So be careful and you may want to double check with the board about the funds you use.