Sign in to follow this  
tony

The Pension Gamble

This video is 54 minutes long (YIKES) and I watched it in bits and pieces today. PBS once again does a great job with it Frontline programing. I think its worth watching and very applicable to teachers.

"The Pension Gamble" goes inside the volatile fight over pensions that’s playing out in one state, and examines the broader consequences for teachers, police officers, firefighters and public employees everywhere.

https://www.pbs.org/video/the-pension-gamble-hzokyh/

This was great thanks for posting it.  I’m a NJ teacher who has been questioning what will become of my pension when I am set to retire 20 years from now.  Last I read, NJ was slightly worse off than Kentucky in regards to un-funded liabilities.  As of the last report by Pew Charitable Trust NJ was around 30%!

Jeb

If I remember correctly you brought up this pension issue before on this site. I hope this gives you a heads up on what might/ could happen.  Even as I am retired now and collecting my pension I worry for what changes might come to others and how devastating it could all be for you all .  Make sure you work on supplemental savings beyond the pension just in case it all goes wrong. Its easy to assume it will never happen but there are plenty of people in industry who were once promised pensions and you know what happened.  Too many teachers out there not saving because they think their pension will always be there as it is currently presented. 

Thanks Tony. I read up further on Kentucky.  What’s more frightening here is that these teachers don’t pay into Social Security!  This is awful.  I feel like one more 2008 could fast forward this crisis for a lot of states.

11 minutes ago, jebjebitz said:

Thanks Tony. I read up further on Kentucky.  What’s more frightening here is that these teachers don’t pay into Social Security!  This is awful.  I feel like one more 2008 could fast forward this crisis for a lot of states.