Newbee

Clueless

Hi! I need some help and I found this forum on the internet by googling the term 403b. So, I spent some time and have been reading through the posts and hope that I have learned something. I need some advice, but I think it may be frustrating for you guys because I am a little new at all this.

Here is the deal:

I am a physician and I will finish training (fellowship) June 30, 2007. After med school, I did 5 years of residency and 2 years of fellowship in surgery and I am now going to get a 'real' job, making real money. I took out loans in college and med school. That amount is around 120,000. I have been repaying that. for around 4 years and have consolidated that. With the salary that I have been making, paying these loans, paying other expenses, I have not saved much money. What I did save I put in an IRA, where I have around 15, 000. About 6900 is cash in a money market acct. The rest has been 'invested' for me into stocks by my dad. These stocks are GE, Lucent and Motorola. I didn't really want to invest in these things, but my dad argues that I cant just have the money sitting in an acct and I need to invest so it can earn something. I was against that, because in residency I had ZERO time to watch these investments. The result has been that he fiddles with it once in a while and I have no idea if it is right or wrong.

So I bought a book and I have been reading on the internet with the idea that when I graduate I have some time off so I will devote myself to this issue and move that money around to whatever investment I want.

Well, the problem is that I will be working for a university in Florida. Part of my contract includes enrolling in a retirement plan. They want me to sign this form and so I thought some other opinions might be useful.