Sign in to follow this  
Granite

Valic Vs Roth Ira

I'm a teacher who has just accepted a new job in more financially secure district. This district offers to match employee retirement contributions up to 4% of their annual salary but they will only put the money into AIG's VALIC annuity. My old district gave no matching monies for retirement so I've been putting money into a ROTH IRA (T Rowe retirement 2030 fund).

Here's my question...I do not know much about the VALIC annuity, but I assume the fees are much higher than my T Rowe Price fund. Is it better for me in the long run to take the free money and contribute 4% into VALIC or am I better off just continuing to put money into my ROTH? I assume I would be stupid to NOT take the matching contributions no matter what VALIC's fees. Any opinions or thoughts?

Another piece of info is that I only see myself staying in this district for maybe 5 years before returning to my old district (long story...short answer, I will be commuting a long distance for the new job)

Hi,

I would take the match by contributing only 4%. Then go ahead and continue with funding your Roth IRA. The free money will make up for the high fees of Valic. Best Wishes.

Joe

Guest TR1982

Joe,

That's quite a statement given the fact that you really know almost nothing about the costs of the Valic program or the specifics of the matching program.

Granite, you owe YOURSELF the chance to find out the specifics of this and then decide. Why would you do anything else?

I agree with Joe. If Joe doesn't know about the costs its because they are so well hidden in these annuity products. That is what makes the annuity option so deceitful. I would take the match but no more.