Sign in to follow this  
janeffery

Is A Bad 457 Worth It? Lausd

I am a teacher in the LAUSD. My husband and I are already max'ing out my 403b and his 401k. We have extra money to invest/save and are in a high tax bracket.

The only 457b LAUSD offers is with AIG VALIC, which I have read is horrible with hidden fees.

Is a bad 457b like AIG VALIC worth investing in for the tax break, or should we invest in a taxable account?

Hi janeffery,

You are right to be extremely caustious when dealing with an insurance company, such as AIG VALIC.

I am a member of the LAUSD 457 oversight committee as a teacher representative. We made sure that all fees were transparent. The two funds (out of the 18 available) which charge the lowest fees are Vanguard Extended Market Index (.40% fee) a domestic equity fund and an International/Global Asset Class, Vanguard Developed Markets (.44% fee). Take a look at all of the funds available on the LAUSD website under benefits administration.

You are welcome to come to any meeting to find out yourself how the LAUSD 457 plan works. We meet about four times a year. The next one is in January at the Beaudry building.

Best wishes,

Steve

Steve,

I was interested in finding the real cost of having a 457 with LAUSD? Say I go with the Vanguard Funds having the lowest expense ratios, how much more I have to pay for the AIG Valic services?

Any input would be appreciated...

The two funds (out of the 18 available) which charge the lowest fees are Vanguard Extended Market Index (.40% fee) a domestic equity fund and an International/Global Asset Class, Vanguard Developed Markets (.44% fee). Take a look at all of the funds available on the LAUSD website under benefits administration.

I looked on the LAUSD Benefits Administration website and I could only find info a link to www.vrsco.com which is AIG run.

I saw your post to LAUSDfred on June 6, 2007 about a mailing with all the links. I must have missed it.