Sign in to follow this  
jmg66

Should I Increase My 403b In This Market?

Hi,

This is my first time posting and don't know anything, sadly, about finances but I am trying to learn. I appreciate any feedback. Here goes:

I'm about five years away from retirement, single. Sold my house two years ago and put the $250,000 in an online bank with @ 5% interest. I was renting, thought I might eventually buy a condo and wanted the cash available (I hate debt). At tax time I was hit hard and decided to look into some different options.

In the fall I decided I'd live mostly off my savings and began to increase my 403b investments so I'd have less taxable income. I only had $30,000 in my Fidelity 403b so for the upcoming year I increased to max withdrawal, $20,500, planning to have most of it taken out in the Jan-June paychecks. Also I decided to switch to the Freedom 2025 Fund since I read it's a good choice for novices and would give me a higher return even though I'll be retiring sooner. Now I'm losing money.

I want to rethink this plan and need some advice and definitely some perspective. Should I take less out and put the future earnings back in the bank? Keep the plan but take less out now and more later in the year? Switch funds?

Thanks

Hi,

This is my first time posting and don't know anything, sadly, about finances but I am trying to learn. I appreciate any feedback. Here goes:

I'm about five years away from retirement, single. Sold my house two years ago and put the $250,000 in an online bank with @ 5% interest. I was renting, thought I might eventually buy a condo and wanted the cash available (I hate debt). At tax time I was hit hard and decided to look into some different options.