Sign in to follow this  
jarhead

I Think We've Been Taken For A Ride By Axa

Hello,

I am a new poster on this forum; I have discovered this place by doing some research about pros/cons of different types of life insurances. I will shamefully admit that I have little knowledge about managing finances and investing (go easy on me). I always trusted that the "advisors" will offer good advise. Even though my wife has no interest in getting educated, I want to correct the error of my ways. I have located a few sources reading this forum for the past few hours.

Heres' how the story goes: My wife (43 yo) is a teacher in NY state (Long Island) and contributes to 403(b). When she got a better paying job in the current school district, she was approached by an AXA advisor and told her that he manages 403(b) for a lot of teachers in the school district and advised her to go with AXA. He came over our house and by the time he left, I had purchased a $100,000 flexible premium variable life insurance and my wife had a $300,000 flexible premium universal life insurance.

Just to show how dumb we are, this is the first time that we opened our policy benefits booklets to see what the charges are for managing the policies.

Wife:

Annual premium - $2,640

Deductions from premium payments - 4% of total premiums paid up to $15,510, and 2% of premiums in excess of this amount.

Admin charges - will never be more than $10/month

Surrender charge (if she were to dump it now) - $5,553

Net Cash Surrender Value - $5,460 (means we'd be left with nothing)

Mine:

Annual premium - $630 quarterly

Premium charge - deduct an amount no to exceed 6% from each premium payment. They reserve the right to increase this %-age.

Admin charges - 9 cents for each $1,000 of initial base policy plus an amount not to exceed $10 monthly (total about $20/month)

M&E risk charge - deduct a monthly amount not to exceed 0.06666% - calculated as a %-age of the amount of the policy account.