Sign in to follow this  
pab

Where To Put Extra $?

I am a public school teacher who has $50k spare "change" to invest. Our school district has 403b and 457 deductions available. I have not maxed out my dedutions in either. I am over 60 and will not need the money for at least 5 years. I am 1 year away from retirement. I have low risk tolerance for loss.

Help!! Thanks.

Pab:

I would advise you to max out on both plans asap. Based on your aversion to loss I would invest in a AA/AAA bond fund. Use no-load mutual funds. Do not invest in a Variable Annuity unless you have intention to annuitize. If you have TIAA at your disposal you could use their Traditional Fixed Annuity contract because it is no-load.

After making these maximum contributions to your 403(b)/457(b) you may very well come up short with your take-home-pay. Any deficiency can be made up by withdrawals from your 50K spare "change" which should be kept in a AAA bond fund like the Vanguard GNMA fund with a check writing feature.

Peace,

Joel L. Frank

Pab,

For anyone to give you any useful advice we would need to know the following-

1) What other assets do you have?

2) How much income will you be looking for in 5 years from these assets?

3) For how long will you need this income?

4) Are you married?

5) What other retirement income will you have?

Bill Mahoney

Joel,

Were you around in the late 80's? If you were you should remember the catastrophe of GNMA funds. In a rising interest rate environment, GNMA funds will experience substantial losses of principal. Mortgage backed securities are horrible investments in a rising rate environment.

I also agree with Bill that you do not have nearly enough information to make a recommendation.

Mark Fischer, CFA

Bill and Mark: