Sign in to follow this  
gadfly

Aig Valic

Hi,

Our District is looking at them as a potential 403b provider. Has anyone on this board had positive or negative or neutral experiences with them?

Thanks!

I have no experience with them, though I have colleagues who have had mixed experience. They seem to be among the more expensive options available...I'd make sure the district does a fair degree of homework in terms of what the extra money is buying.

I currently have my 403 through them and am reasonably happy. I have a nice variety of funds to choose from, even some index funds.

OTOH, my employer pays all fees, and yes, this was a factor in my choice. (Were this not the case, I probably would've looked more closely at other options.)

Also, my account rep is very motivated, and I think she *earns* what she gets paid, and this was also a factor in my choice. When she retires, if her replacement isn't as customer oriented, I will then consider all of my options.

Tartymae,

What are the fees that your employer pays? Please express them as an expense ratio? i.e. 1.50 percent. Also, what industry are you employed in? I ask because it is really rare for an er to pay the expense ratio.

Peace,

Joel L. Frank

Hey Joel,

I work for a university.

When I was doing my prelims, I asked what the costs would be, saying, "It costs me $25/yr to have my Roth IRA through sharebuilder on top the expense ratios of any funds I invest in. What does it cost to have a 403?"

My account rep explained that as long as I worked for the university, I would not be charged any account fees or account expenses by AIG, that the university paid those as an incentive to get people to save for retirement, since they did not provide any sort of match.

It's been a while since I asked what the exact amount is, but my guess is that it was somewhere within 1-1.5%.

I've checked my statements and I can see that my returns reflect the fact that this is true. The U is paying AIG's expense ratio.

---