Emmysue

Nyc Deferred Compensation Plan

I'm a school administrator in New York City. I retire in 3 years. I'll receive a pension, health benefits, etc. Also, I currently have around $300,000 in a 403b at 8.25% fixed.

No other assets, though, except for about $35,000 in a money market (emergency fund).

Would like to set up a supplemental retirement savings.

I'm considering either a 457 or 457 Roth via the New York City Deferred Compensation Plan.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

I'm a school administrator in New York City. I retire in 3 years. I'll receive a pension, health benefits, etc. Also, I currently have around $300,000 in a 403b at 8.25% fixed.

No other assets, though, except for about $35,000 in a money market (emergency fund).

I'm considering either a 457 or 457 Roth via the New York City Deferred Compensation Plan.

Hi Emmysue,

You folks still have the dream fixed account that we all would like, 8.25%! Interest only means you would get over $24000 per year as a supplement to your pension. Excuse my ignorance, but why change, unless, of course, you will get the same guarenteed interest?

What am I missing?

Steve

Hi Emmysue,

You folks still have the dream fixed account that we all would like, 8.25%! Interest only means you would get over $24000 per year as a supplement to your pension. Excuse my ignorance, but why change, unless, of course, you will get the same guarenteed interest?

What am I missing?

Steve

Hi Steve,

Trust me, I'm very grateful for the fixed 8.25%. : )

I'm not looking to switch. I am allowed to contribute the maximum to a 457 in addition to my pension and 403b.

I'm looking for a supplemental retirement savings account.

Instead of putting extra money in a ING DIRECT Money Market, the Stable Income Fund with the NYC Deferred Compensation Plan performs much better and is very conservative.

Just wondering whether to go with a 457 or 457 Roth.

Thanks again.

Guest Joel Frank

Hi Emmysue,

What am I missing?

Steve