BrandNew

Clueless About 403B

Hi!

I am a first year elementary teacher and need help choosing a 403b provider. I don't know anything about the 403b, or what questions to ask providers. I have met with insurance and investment companies, but they all seem to offer the same things, but contradict each other at the same time (for instance whether I should do a variable or indexed annuity). I am 23, single, and don't have children. I hope someone with experience in this area could offer advice! Here are the providers I have to choose from:

Aspire

Ameriprise

AXA

CitiStreet

First Investors

GALIC

Horace Mann

IA Pacific

ING

Life Insurance of the Southwest

Lincoln Financial Group

Lincoln Investment Planning

MetLife

Symetra

Security Benefit

Thrivent

VALIC

Hello Welcome to the website

From my past experiences and current ones too, I think you should take a close look at Aspire. Thats the one I am currently with and I have access to several Vanguard and TRowe Price funds at a reasonable cost. What makes this possible is you can self direct the account meaning you won't have to pay money to a salesperson for putting you in a fund you can put yourself in. You will pay too much long term.

Go to the Aspire website, log in your state and school system and report what choices you have available to you. From their we can help you further set up a 403b thats relatively low cost. I believe its only .15 basis points plus the fund expense ratio. If you stick with the Vanguard index funds you can come out pretty well cost wise.

I would encourage you to avoid most of the other choices as they are insurance products. My question to you is ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT AN ANNUITY?

Here is the aspire website:http://www.403bplan.info

Go to plan search.

WE look forward to hearing from you.

Tony

Hi Tony!