mandmclark

Octfcu And What Are My Options?

I am a 5th year teacher and plan on begining to contribute my maximum to either a 457 or 403(b) plan starting this year. My District uses the OCTFCU as it's administrator. When I went there I was given a list of all of my choices for providers and was unhappy to see no companies like vangaurd etc...

I asked if I could go directly to Vangaurd and set up a 457 or 403(b) with them. I was told that I could only go through the credit union.

Is there any way to set up my 403(b) or 457 directly with Vangaurd and my district and still have all the benefits of pre tax withdrawl?

Also, if I do go with the OCTFCU, does anyone have any recommendations as to the safest, least costly, and easiest fund to go into with the intention of transfering it out anually to a Vangaurd or like account? My district is Anaheim Union High

Thank you for your responses.

You should call Vanguard small business 1-800-662-2003 and inquire. They should be able to steer you in the right direction.

If your payroll department agrees, it would then be tax deductible contribution where payroll would forward your contribution to Vanguard.

mandmclark,

The following link will provide the approved provider list for your district. Vanguard will only sign a modified hold harmless with OCTFCU which no district has yet approved. After looking at the list I see to good options - Fidelity and USAA. I would go with Fidelity. You can get the enrollment forms for fidelity at http://www.mysavingsatwork.com/atwork.htm - the lower left of the screen - click on enroll. You will need to call fidelity to get the group plan number for your district (and to verify they are available). You will then fill out the Salary Reduction Agreement from OCTFCU's website and submit it to OCTFCU - the Salary Reduction Agreement is at http://www.octfcu.org/retirementbuilder/forms/403_Salary_Reduction_Agreement.pdf.