Sign in to follow this  
Edd

403Byes-Or-No?

Hello. Forgive me if this topic has been discussed previously.

I am a teacher in California, will have the state pension for teachers, and currently save some in the 403b that is available to me.

Does anyone think that saving in a taxable account in a low turnover fund such as an index fund or some other low turnover fund is a better idea than the tax deferred saving in the 403b?

I have long thought about this in my planning/saving phase. Now it is tax deferred but I will pay full income tax rate upon taking it out, or save now after tax and then pull as a capital gains which is taxed at a much lower rate than what I expect to pay in retirement with my pension and pulling from the 403b. Our AGI is currently too high for a RothIRA.

The tax savings when I am retired seems like a good idea given that we will live on what we have and want to keep expenses, taxes etc., at that time as low as possible. I see being able to afford it now as better than when I am old living on less.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks, Edd

I am not sure what our options are. If they are good, then that would be a possibility. If the options stink, however, I am back to the same question as my original.

Edd

Guest Joel L Frank

"I am not sure what our options are. If they are good, then that would be a possibility. If the options stink, however, I am back to the same question as my original."

Edd

====================================================================================================

Edd:

I'm confused. In your opening post you told us that..."and currently save some in the 403b that is available to me." So you have to have at least a working knowledge of what "our options are", no? Does your 403(b) offer a Roth feature? Is it load or no load? If it's no-load it's what it's suppose to be! If it has a Roth feature it is that much better.

Joel