Sign in to follow this  
mdcoon127

Need Advice On Whether To Rollover An Ira Into A 403(B) - The Other Wa

I am a newbie to this forum. And to my own investing in general. I have an IRA that was my former employer's 401(k) which I rolled into an IRA at Morgan Stanley 6 years ago. My TRAK Personalized Investment Advisory Service in 6 years has yielded exactly nothing - I am at the same place as when I gave it to them to work for me - that is my problem. I now work for a nonprofit with a 403(b) which is invested in some very well performing funds and I'm making a lot of money there. I'd like to roll my IRA into the 403(b) - and I can't find any information as to tax consequences if any, or whether it is a Roth IRA or not matters. Does anyone on this message board have any experience with this? Please advise.

Hi Mdcoon,

Sure, we have experience with this. First off, congrats on getting out of that brokerage firm.

It is amazing. The entire world has been making nice returns in the last 6 years just be being invested in the stock market and Morgan Stanley has netted ZERO returns!!!! Unbelieveable!

As you painfully learned now is to get your money out of Morgan Stanley immediately. The good folks around here have suggested for years to keep your money out of the big banks, brokerage firms and large insurance companies and invest with Vanguard, TIAA CREF or the Spartan Funds at Fidelity. My suggestion is to roll your 401k over to Vanguard since you have terminated your employment. It doesn't make any sense to transfer your old money over to your current 403b pay the costs associated with the current 403b.

There are no tax consequences with transferring from a 403b or 401k into a rollover IRA. There no tax consequences with the Roth IRA either.