Sign in to follow this  
Rtngolf

Roth 403 B Or Not

Hi everyone, I am a 25 year veteran teacher working in illinois. My wife is about the same years into it. We are currently both maxing out 403 b and make North of 100k a year each. I was thinking of switching to the roth 403b. I would have aspire available to me and my wife would have Fidelity. What does everybody think. I doubt I will be in a lower tax bracket when I retire unless they mess with my pension!!

Rich

Rich,

As you are phased out of the Roth IRA given your household income, a Roth 403(b) is your only option when looking at saving tax-free for retirement. However, you are still locking that money up to only be used after retirement, and it can't be moved from the 403(b) until you leave teaching.

As the tax implications are the same, I would consider saving to a taxable investment account. It's only taxable to the extent of the investments you choose, so index, low-turnover funds shouldn't give you too much tax liability. In addition, this money can be used before retirement, and is not subject to any fees that your 403(b) company may impose.

However, if the main focus is retirement savings, then the Roth 403(b) is a good choice. It will give you flexiblity when it comes to retirement income, and it can also be a tax-free asset to leave to heirs should you not need the money. Chances are with two teacher pensions, at your current income, there's a chance you might not need it.

Note that by switching to the Roth option, your income tax liability will be going up as you lose the tax deferral of the traditional 403(b). I think that it's worth it in the long run though.

Best,

Dave

To All,