Sign in to follow this  
fuccille

Help Choosing Between My 403(B) Options!

I've been with AXA for 11 years and have recently discovered what a bad place to be putting my money. I'm a teacher and only have 403(b) offerings. My options in my district are currently:

American Funds - R3 Investments

American Funds - R4 Investments

AXA Equitable

Franklin Templeton Bank & Trus, F.S.B

MetLife

Variable Annuity Life Insurance Company (VALIC)

Can someone tell me which is the best one to go with? I plan on taking everything out of my AXA account.

Hi Fuccille,

Welcome to this forum. Let me guess where you read that AXA was "a bad place to be putting my money."

Was it the Wall Street Journal?

Psychology Today?

or the NY Times 5 part series on 403(b)s with public k12? :-)

Sorry, but I would not put my money in any of those companies on your list.

What state do you live? Sometimes your state pension plan has a good 403b offering. Here in California almost all teachers can use what we call Pension 2, which is a great plan offered by our state teachers pension plan.

Another option might be your state 457(b) plan.

Again, welcome to the forum,

Steve

Fuccille

Its all about fees and your choices are not good. Even the American Funds which are good funds have high expense ratios in the R3 R4 class . Agree with Steve. Look for an alternative. Check if you have access to a state 457b. Sometimes the 457b has better choices worth tapping into. Be careful of moving your money from AXA, and paying a surrendar charge and then just moving into another bad choice. I foolishly did that years ago thinking I was going into something better. I was so wrong!!! I was no Einstein to say the least!