Kim

Comparing 403bs

I am a first year teacher in New York and I have been doing research about the 403B plan. I am looking for help in finding the best company to get a 403B plan through. I have been approached by 2 men; one from AXA-Equitable, and the other from CITI Group-Travelers. Other teachers at my school have Aetna, ING, Fidelity. I am finding it difficult to compare and choose. I saw the one note posted for the 403B compare for people in California. Is there a site to compare for those in NY? Please help!

Guest Sierra

Stay far away from a provider that assigns a salesperson to you. This means you are paying a broker to acquire the 403(b) investment for you. I would rather see you use that brokerage commission to grow your investment instead. Fidelity looks like the best of the lot. But investigate before investing. Also go to your local school board and tell them that they can opt into the NY state deferred compensation 457(b) Plan. Maybe they have already done so. Find out. This is the plan of choice for all teachers in NY. NY City teachers participate in the 457(b) Plan of the City of NY.

Get back to us with your findings.

Peace,

Joel L. Frank

Hi Kim,