Sign in to follow this  
LibraryLady

Metlife- Could This Be Possible?

I gave a presentation today about a potential new 403b provider, which went well. I spoke to someone afterward who had just met with a Metlife representative and asked her about fees. She of course could not answer the question of what the fees were, but could remember the surrender fee. My fellow teacher said there was a 6 year rolling surrender fee and basically didn't think she could get out of her plan with paying it until she hit 59 1/2. That does not seem possible to me. I did tell her to go back and look at her contract, but was wondering if anyone had experience with this?

My fellow teacher said there was a 6 year rolling surrender fee and basically didn't think she could get out of her plan with paying it until she hit 59 1/2. That does not seem possible to me. I did tell her to go back and look at her contract, but was wondering if anyone had experience with this?

Fortunately I have no direct experience with rolling surrender fees! A 6 year rolling surrender fee means that what she contributed last year would have a fee of 6%, what she contributed in 2015 would have a fee of 5%, etc., and what she contributed 7 years ago would have no surrender fee. These fees in total would apply if she transferred her account to another provider. If the teacher has just started contributing to the MetLife annuity, the surrender fee wouldn't amount to that much. She absolutely has the right to change providers.

59.5 is the age at which she can take distributions from the 403b without an IRS mandated 10% penalty for early withdrawal. Actually if the 403b contributor is separated from their employer (the sponsor of the plan), they can take penalty free distributions at age 55.