GSCalifornia

Getting Out Of National Life Group/life Insurance Company Of Southwest

I've been working for the same school district for 3 years now. Two years ago I received an email from the district indicating that a retirement planning seminar will be held at the district office so I decided to go. A rep from Teacher's Pension and Insurance Services went over the importance of saving for retirement early and reviewed the different types of annuities (fixed, indexed, variable). At the time, I knew I wanted to start saving for retirement early and I was under the impression that the rep was someone from the district who would provide me an objective overview of my retirement options (I know, very naive of me). I met with the rep one-on-one and signed up for an indexed annuity through National Life Group/Life Insurance Company of Southwest. He assured me that I was doing the right thing by getting into something early and that it didn't matter so much what it was, as long as I started saving (big mistake). I signed my life away and as I am now learning more about these pesky insurance plans, I really regret what I did. I currently have $4,200 in the National Life Group indexed annuity (Secure Plus Elite 5). I want to get out of that plan but there is a 10% surrender fee. I'm 31 years old and have many years of saving ahead of me. I am thinking that paying $420 now to get out of this plan will not be too bad in the long run? Maybe I could make that back over time with another company with higher returns? National Life Group's website is terrible and super confusing... I cannot even tell how much my money has appreciated so far (I know it is not much though). My district offers several options for 403b:

American Century Investments

American Fidelity Assurance Company

American Funds Ameriprise Financial, Inc.

AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company

CalSTRS Pension2

Fidelity Investments

Foresters Financial (formerly First Investors)