Halle23

Fidelity, USAA or MetLife

I am a teacher who has had a 403b plan for 11 years with metlife. I naively didnt realize there was such a discrepency in fees. The rep who was managing my account has retired and I am thinking of switching over to Fidelity or USAA. I am a little freaked, because neither one has a face to face rep who manages (ie, put on a rebalancer). I dont know what to do and I would love some advice as I have NO IDEA where to begin and certainly dont want to lose money.

Thank you so so much!!

Halle23, welcome to the forum! Please don't be freaked out, because that "face to face" costs way too much! And it's not really needed or desirable. The "face" is actually a salesperson and is not looking out for your best interests. The more expensive what s(he) sells you, the more s(he) makes. 

You're very fortunate to have Fidelity on your vendor list. They are actually the very lowest cost vendor of all, even lower than Vanguard. You can choose from a long list of funds, but there are only a few that we recommend on 403bwise. They are low-cost index funds that are as diversified as possible. You'll find them on the 403bcompare.com website.

You should begin by stopping contributions to your Metlife 403b. Then set up a 403b account with Fidelity. If your district has a Third Party Administrator, you'll need to fill out their paperwork. After the Fidelity account is all set up, you can get to work with the transfer of your MetLife balance to Fidelity.