Diosanny

New Teacher 403b Options

Hello,

I am a new teacher heading into my 2nd year of teaching. My colleagues told me to start a 403b last year but I was little too overwhelmed with 1st year teaching jitters to start doing so, but I want to start this year. I met with an AXA adviser yesterday morning and everything seemed to be going fine, I was buying what he was selling, but then he pushed for paperwork with no time to think and alarm bells rang in my head. I decided to do my own research and found this discussion board. It seems like I was right to trust those alarms. I will admit that I have limited financial knowledge and a lot of these terms go over my head (I'm sure google is very curious with my recent searches) but I'm trying my best.

I have attached the list of vendors my district provides (I'm not sure if "provides" is the right term). I looked at their websites and I'm leaning towards Kades-Margolis because they're sponsored by the Pennsylvania State Education Association (union) or Horace-Mann because I believe that's where my mom has hers. 

Also, and this might be a silly question, but what is the purpose of the Third Party Administrator?

Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated! Thank you!

403b SDoL Vendors.jpg

403b Third Party Administrator.jpg

I know for a fact AXA and Voya are bad. I strongly suspect Horace Mann is bad because anybody with "insurance" in their name almost always is. I don't know anything about Kades-Margolis Corporation.

Most teachers also have access to a 457b, do you? If so the 457b might have better options.

You may want to lobby your district to add better vendors (Vanguard and Fidelity are my favorites). I can help with that if you decide to.