Rubbadubbss

Can i change the 403b/457 company that my job wants me to use?

I recently started a new job.  The retirement accounts offered are a 403(b), a 401(a) with employer match after 1 year and 6-year graded vesting schedule and an 457(b).  I was very excited about the opportunity to put money pre-tax money in a 457 for this job. 

Today I found out my job uses Valic for retirement services.  I looked through the list of available funds, its only about 30 total.  Strangely there is no total market index fund, no S&P index fund, no REITs, and the only bond fund available is a total market bond fund.  There are a few vanguard funds, but most are target cycle retirement funds.  

I’m an investing newbie.  I am not sure how much I want to slice-and-dice my portfolio, but I do want more choices in available funds.  What options do I have to use a different company than Valic?  I’ve heard its possible to change companies, but also that companies will make it difficult to do so or you may end up losing money if you have an outside company do it because the match may not work correctly?

I’m interested in hearing the prospective from the group.  I’m 33 years old.  I currently have about 1.5 years pre-tax savings in a TIAA retirement account from my previous job,  money saved in a taxable brokerage account with Vanguard, a backdoor Roth at vanguard, and a small old fidelity retirement 403b.  Should I approach TIAA, vanguard, or fidelity investment companies to see if they can take over my 457 and 403b and make this easier?  I don’t want to lose any benefits from my current job, but Valic doesn’t seem to have the greatest options.  I've heard there is an IRS law that says you can change  to whatever company you want?

Thanks!  Would appreciate help from the group