Tricia C.

Need Help Selecting 403b Service Provider

Hi!  I am a teacher with Prince Georges' County Public Schools in MD. 
Earlier this month my employer changed over to US Omni. I'm hoping that the 403bwise community can help me decide on the "least of all evils" among their list of service providers. They have a list of service providers under both a 403b and a 457b plan (see attached). It's about the same vendors for both types of plans...
I am hesitant to invest with TIAA after hearing about their 2017 fallout. I've learned more about Aspire on this discussion board, and was wondering if that may be the best option from the list. 
Something I've recently learned about through this discussion board are state-sponsored supplemental retirement plans. I'm still in the process of researching this program in my state. I'm hoping that it may also be a viable low-cost investment solution for my retirement plan. 

Finally, just want to add that I'm really grateful for this community and for Dan & Company for establishing this valuable resource and platform for teachers!

1663727072_Screenshot(18).png.3dd8c2bae4e02c87a1cc72081bd9f8d1.png192298908_Screenshot(19).png.bae2c1292d32aeabec428def2fe2825e.png

403b

Your best option is Security Benefit’s NEA DirectInvest, documented here.

Lincoln Investment also offers a self directed plan in some areas that is pretty good.

Aspire is probably your third best choice, documented here.

Plan Member Serivces has a direct plan that is probably your fourth best option, documented here

TIAA likely comes in fifth, but your district may have negotiated a better deal than mine, which is documented here.

457b

You should definitely find out if your state has sponsored a 457b, they’re often very good.

Unfortunately, NEA DirectInvest isn’t offered as a 457b and you should see if Lincoln’s direct plan is offered as a 457b.

Aside from that your best options are Aspire followed by PlanMember’s direct plan.

TIAA