Fbuchner23

457 plan fees too high? What are my options?

Hello everyone,

I am a 40 year old teacher with 18 years of service. I started a 457 plan with Security Benefit 14 years ago. I currently have roughly 80K in the account. I have been trying to research a little more recently and I would love to convert the 457 into a 403(b) and invest with Vanguard (my district uses them as a provider) to keep my fees as low as possible. Based on what I can see, that isn't an option for me. My only real option if I am unhappy with my current 457 is to roll it into another sponsored plan through my district. I have a few questions:

1 - Is what I am stating above true? 457 to 403(b) rollover is not an option?
2 - How can I determine ALL of the fees associated with my security benefit plan? My quarterly statement shows an "Asset Based Fee" which breaks down to roughly .25%. I have read that 403(b) and 457 accounts can have hidden fees. How would I find load fees, maintenance fees, etc.?
3 - Based on your knowledge or experience what plan would you recommend for me to roll my investment into. My district sponsored plans are here: https://tdsplans.org/forms_PD.aspx?orgID=5653
I am leaning towards Fidelity based on what I have researched. I am confirming with my current provider that there will be no surrender fees.
4 - Finally, would you recommend I explore any other options? Stop contributing to my current 457 and open a 403(b) with Vanguard? Explore a IRA or Roth IRA? Any other suggestions or things I should consider?

Thank you in advance

1 hour ago, Fbuchner23 said:

Hello everyone,