tnewin

AXA 403b Rollover and Mass Mutual 457b Questions

Hello,

I’m a 44-year-old teacher located in California.  I have an AXA 403b worth about 100k that I opened up fifteen years ago and stopped contributing to two years ago. I have an Oppenheimer 403b account currently valued at 4k.  I opened this account under the guidance of a financial planner who was also my tax guy. Even though these two accounts have higher than average fees, I’m glad I put some money into retirement.    Two years ago I opened up a 403b account with Vanguard. That account has about 12k in it. I currently have a Roth IRA with Vanguard and max that out every year.

How do I decide if I should roll over my Axa 403b and/or my Oppenheimer 403b account into my Vanguard 403b?  I talked to my AXA advisor and he said that I should the funds already placed on AXA because I paid the bulk of the fees upfront. Is this true? My advisor wouldn’t give me a straight answer on how much I pay for fees and I don’t know how to look that up on my statements. My advisor also said that he does not get paid since I no longer contribute to my AXA account. Should I just pay the surrender charges on my AXA account and be done with it? Should I wait until there are no surrender charges to rollover my AXA account?  

I recently learned that I can also contribute to a 457plan. The 457 plan was appealing to me as if I end my employment with my district, I can withdraw money and pay taxes on the withdrawal while avoiding the 10% penalty.  I'm hoping to reach retirement age before I withdraw from my retirement accounts, however, two of my brothers passed before the age of 40 and I want to be able to access my money penalty-free if I ever need to.