Adrienne

AXA drop out

Hi all-

I am a NYS teacher for 15 years with AXA. Recently I am seeing how I am NOT making as much money as I should be.What is the best way to get out of this without surrendering so many fees.....?

Thanks in advance.

Adrienne

The first step is to look up your district's 403b vendor list. It should be on their website or that of the district's third party administrator. Hopefully there will be a low-cost vendor. You can stop your contributions to AXA and as soon as you've got the new account set up, you can start the process of moving your AXA balance to a lower-cost vendor. 

Teachers in NY state have an excellent 457 plan run by the state. You can contribute to that as will as to a 403b. See if your district has the state plan on its 457 vendor list, and if it does, I would sign up and contribute to it after stopping the AXA contributions. You can't move your 403b balance to the 457 plan, so you need a low-cost 403b plan to hold your AXA balance, whether you want to continue contributing to a 403b plan or not. 

So, to help you out, we need the 403b vendor list for your district.

11 minutes ago, krow36 said:

The first step is to look up your district's 403b vendor list. It should be on their website or that of the district's third party administrator. Hopefully there will be a low-cost vendor. You can stop your contributions to AXA and as soon as you've got the new account set up, you can start the process of moving your AXA balance to a lower-cost vendor. 

Teachers in NY state have an excellent 457 plan run by the state. You can contribute to that as will as to a 403b. See if your district has the state plan on its 457 vendor list, and if it does, I would sign up and contribute to it after stopping the AXA contributions. You can't move your 403b balance to the 457 plan, so you need a low-cost 403b plan to hold your AXA balance, whether you want to continue contributing to a 403b plan or not.