davegram

Unearthing my 403B rates

Hi all,

I'm new to this site, and have come here after listening to the "Teach and Retire Rich" podcast and getting pretty fired up. I'm already loving 403bwise, but I have a lot to learn. Ok, on to my question...

I'm looking to up my contributions. I've been teaching for 20 years. I have both a 403b (Voya Financial) and a Roth IRA (Vanguard). I'm trying to decide whether I should put more into my Roth IRA or my 403b. Although my 403b has performed very well, I am having trouble determining what my fees are. If it turns out my fees are high, I'd prefer to lean more heavily on my Roth IRA.

I've been looking around on Voya Financial's website, but I can't find specific info about fees. I know I could just make an appointment with a rep to discuss, but I don't feel like fending off the hard sell to up contributions, etc. Anyone know an easier way to find this info, or should I just bite the bullet and call my rep? Thanks!

There’s a website called 403bcompare that lists fees for plans offered in California. It isn’t always up to date. Still, that’ll provide a good proxy for the fees you’re likely paying.

However, if you’re a K-12 teacher, I can almost guarantee you’re paying high fees with Voya. If you can figure out what vendors your district approved for 403bs and 457bs (the lists may differ from each other) then we can tell you what your best option is. If you have no good options, I can teach you how to get your district to add Vanguard and Fidelity.

I don’t know why so many people feel like they have to choose between a Traditional 403b/457b vs a Roth IRA. The decision between Roth vs Traditional should be made independent of whether you’re using a 403b, 457b, IRA, or any other tax advantages account.