LaurieL

Please help me choose a 403(b) provider

Good morning,

I am a teacher in Florida, and I currently have the following choices for my 403(b). I am currently with Suncoast (a local credit union, and shame on me, but it was convenient to set up at the time) though they are now combining with Nationwide, effective early June. I am a 64-year-old career changer, so I have only taught for 4 years so far and likely will teach for another 4-5 years or so. I have been looking to max out my contributions lately, a move that has probably not worked out in the best way considering the events of recent months!  Nevertheless, I do not need the funds currently and I believe the tax savings due to the income referrals will offset the current disadvantages so I hope to continue making contributions. I am not interested in an annuity.

I would like feedback on both the plan to maximize my contributions and where I should put my contributions going forward.

• American Century 403(b) & 457
  • AXA 403(b)
  • Fidelity Retirement Services 403(b) & 457
  • VOYA 403(b)
  • The Legend Group 403(b)
  • MetLife 403(b)
  • PlanMember Securities 403(b) & 457
  • Ameriprise (Riversource) Life 403(b)
  • Suncoast Nationwide 403(b) & 457
  • AIG Retirement Services (VALIC) 403(b) & 457

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance.

Laurie

LaurieL welcome to the forum!  Without a doubt, Fidelity Retirement Services is the best and lowest cost vendor. I think that maxing out your retirement accounts, even at age 64 makes sense. Hopefully your 84 year-old self will be grateful. I admit that the times are scary and the markets are and will continue to be volatile. I wouldn't have an asset allocation of more than 60/40 stocks/bonds, maybe 50/50, depending on your expected income in retirement. A 3 fund portfolio makes sense to me: Total (US) Stock Market, Total Int'l Stock Market and Total Bond Market. Some omit International stocks, it's a personal decision.