Sign in to follow this  
Lightguy

Smith Barney 403b

I am new to all this so I was wandering if any of you had any opinions about Smith Barney?? The company I am with goes through smith barney so I am looking at opening up a 403b through them. Any opinions would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks

Smith Barney is part of Citigroup. They have few good funds, but not many. These funds are sold only by Smith Barney Brokers, Primerica, & Citistreet representatives. Both companies are owned by Citigroup. I would check to see what share classes are being offered. Look at whether you are buying an annuity or pure mutual funds. Check to see if there is a termination charge and look at all the fees. Make sure that your money is not restricted if you need it for an emergency. Make sure you understand how the product works and you are disclosed all the fees before you buy into the plan. Make sure that if you terminate employment, that you can rollover your money to another plan without penalty. Get it in writing!!! Make sure you compare all share classes before you invest. Get a prospectus and don't sign up for anything unless you understand fully what you are buying! By the way, Smith Barney is a sister company with Travelers Life & Annuity. Good Luck in your quest!

Also, I was given some info about Travelers Life & Annuity. If Smith Barney is using Travelers Life & Annuity, then you should look at that topic in this forum. If Smith Barney is using an annuity, that broker needs to make money to stay in business with Smith Barney. You better really look at those fees as they will probably be pretty high. Based on what I have learned, there are lower fee based products out there that you could invest in! Good Luck!