Marian

Total newbie with fee and vendor questions

I'm very late to the party for saving. I'm 59.

1. I'm confused by the fact that the fees seem so much higher for the 457 plan than for the 403b plans available through the state's TPA, which is TCG. The fees are listed at the bottom of these plan summaries that I will post at the end of this question. It looks like to me that the fees are $1.50 a month (?) (and paid by the employer) for the 403b and something like $22 plus 0.77 with a $150K cap for the 457 plan (paid by the participant). My district chose a 457 that does not offer Roth contributions. However, there are Roth options in the 403b vendor list, which contains Fidelity and Vanguard (plus 58 others because this is Texas).  Is this a big difference in fees between the two plans? It seems like the 403b plans are fee free. Is that even possible?

2. If I want to make Roth contributions, the only option is a 403b. It looks like TCG holds and runs the 457 plan itself. I looked at the 457 quarterly report and my eyes glaze over. There are no vendor options listed for the 457. Does that mean TCG is the vendor? This is confusing to me.

3. Right now,  I plan to work until I'm 75, longer if I'm able. So would a Vanguard target date 403b plan be my best option? Like 2035? I can't even see which Vanguard options are available until I create the account with them using the secret code. Will these target date accounts be visible when I do that?

Thank you for any help you can give me. I'm embarrassed but I'm trying to get past it!

403b plan summary.jpg

457 plan summary.jpg

I found this list of funds available for the 457. So this means that it is self-directed since I can choose a percentage myself? But why would I do this if the 403b is without fees?

Met Life Stable Value Fund

BlackRock Total Return Fund K

TIAA CREF Lifecycle Retirement

TIAA-CREF Lifecycle 2055

TIAA-CREF Lifecycle 2060

TIAA-CREF Lifecycle 2020

TIAA-CREF Lifecycle 2025