Sign in to follow this  
SCteacher13

Switching 403b

I am a teacher in South Carolina, and I started my 403b plan this past January (with AXA/Equitable). I just contacted my district and asked for a list of approved vendors.

image.png.bc8c232dd1094e5d6115bf43f1d56272.png

From my research, I should get out of my plan with Equitable. Is there a better choice based on the list above? If not, is there another option?

Thanks in advance!

SCteacher13, welcome to the forum. You are fortunate to have access to the SC state 401k and 457 plans which are described here:https://www.chacity.org/images/FCKUploads/file/Careers/Employee Forms/401k-457 Getting Started.pdf

Here’s a listing of the funds available in both plans: https://southcarolinadcp.empower-retirement.com/participant/#/articles/SouthCarolina/investmentInformation

The administration fee is 0.11% and the expense ratio of a target retirement fund is 0.10%. 

You can invest in both a 401k and a 457, each having their on maximum contribution of 19.5k for 2020. You are fortunate to have a high quality 401k rather than an expensive 403b. Your 403b vendors are high-cost annuity sellers and should be avoided. You can't transfer your 403b account balance into either the 401k or the 457 while you remain with the same employer. I would stop contributions ASAP and set up either (or both?) the 401k or the 457 accounts.

The PFS Invest 403b would be a possible vendor that you could use to transfer your AXA account into. Their expense ratios run from about 0.52% to about 1.30% so it's not low-cost. But it is lower cost than AXA which has a 1.20% fee on top of your fund's expense ratio fee. You could use only the one fund Invesco Equally-Wtd S&P 500 A. It’s expense ratio is 0.52%. Unfortunately it and the other funds have a 5.5% front-end load.   https://www.403bcompare.com/products/78#/investmentoptions

SC Teacher