matt rector

NEA Self Directed plan--any advice on investment options

Hello

I am using the NEA Self Directed plan through Security Benefit (thank you for telling me about this option) --can anyone offer any advice about how to I should be breaking out my investment options? I am currently using this ratio:

Vanguard Total Stock Market = 70%

·         Vanguard Total Int’l Stock Market = 10%

·         Vanguard Intermediate Term Bond = 20%

I have been teaching for 20 years and I plan to teach about 10 more years. Someone told me my allocations are very conservative---too conservative? Any advice or help is appreciated. Thank you. 

31 minutes ago, matt rector said:

. Someone told me my allocations are very conservative---too conservative? Any advice or help is appreciated. Thank you. 

Just the opposite .I think who ever told you that doesn't know much about investing. You have an 80% equity allocation and 20% in bonds. To me that qualifies as an aggressive allocation.  I think your current allocation is perfect and at rock bottom cost.. The only advice I can offer is that adding more bonds would make your portfolio less aggressive and depending on your age and risk tolerance you might add more bonds  not less going forward.  

As a counterpoint If you plan on collecting a teacher's pension plus social security you could I guess go 100% equity and quit the bonds all together and count your pensions as your fixed component. However I think having some bonds adds to your diversification and bonds CAN outperform stocks at times so I wouldn't make any changes.

Tony