Sign in to follow this  
gschech

Valic's Last Days

I work for a non-for-profit company and we have had Valic as our 403b vendor since 1991. I've been pushing to get rid of them for two years and it finally has paid off. We're switching to a local investment planner to set up our accounts and were going to have access to Vanguard and DFA funds. Metlife is going to be our vendor with which investments will be made through, but the planner will monitor the plan and conduct quarterly reviews with us. Even by using the planner, it's still lower cost than if we stayed with Valic. We tried to work with Valic to lower their fees, but they wouldn't budge. So, we're going to fire them. It feels real good. Good luck to all of you who are trying to get your company to change vendors. Don't give up!

Guest TR1982

Please explain how you will have 2 layers of service/vendors on top of DFA and Vanguard funds that will be substantially less than what you what you have been paying. Also, let us know how many employees and the asset size of the case. It seems unlikely that there could be much cost savings given what you have described. More information would be appreciated.

This is how it's going to work. The finanial planner has an agreement with Metlife for him to allow his customers to use Metlife as a custodian. Our planner favors using index funds for retirement savings and will set-up 5 different index portfolios and the employees will pick one based upon their risk tolerance level. Here's a breakdown of the expenses: Average portfolio expense will be .46%; financial planner will charge .40%; Metlife will charge .12% as the custodian. Total average fund expense for investing in one of these portfolios will be .98%.

The average funds expense for investing in a Valic fund is 1.83%.

We have a total of over 500 employees and over $6.5 million in assets.

Hope this helps.